Angelina – Old Town Manassas

I was contacted in the summer of 2011 by my friend Lisa and asked if I had considered using any children in my Poetry of Motion project, and honestly I had not. Her daughter is a dancer and was interested in participating in the project, my studio has done work for Lisa and I knew her daughter and have shot her on several occasions so I thought she would make a wonderful addition to my project. I contacted Sara Gaydash and asked if she would help with the ballet posing as I am still learning names and proper technique from the dancers at The Manassas Ballet Theatre. We met in Old Town Manassas on an early summers morning to take advantage of the soft warm lighting early in the morning and with Sara’s help we gt some beautiful shots of Angelina. Lisa also took advantage of the opportunity to snap a couple of quick pics of me showing Angelina and Sara the ballet pose I wanted, and they are out there on the internet, but of course I’m not going to tell where you can find them! 🙂

This was a great shoot and I love the images of Angelina on the church steps, Thanks to Lisa for broadening my vision of this project to include children as well!

We hope you enjoy these images as much as we enjoying sharing them with you and we hope you consider supporting this project to bring the beauty of dance to a wider audience by purchasing one of our limited edition prints at our website: www.bpaydenphotography.com/store

“Let us first teach little children to breathe, to vibrate, to feel, and to become one

with the general harmony and movement of nature.

Let us first produce a beautiful human being, a dancing child.”

– Isadora Duncan

Leave a comment

Filed under Ballet, Children, Dance

Leave a comment